Monday, February 9, 2015

Book Review: Where Trust Lies

Where Trust Lies. Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan. 2015. Bethany House. 336 pages. [Source: Review copy]

I enjoyed reading Where Trust Lies, the second book in the Return to the Canadian West series by Janette Oke. (The first book in this series is Where Courage Calls.)

Beth Thatcher, our heroine, has returned for the summer. She's hoping that she'll return for another year of teaching, but, nothing has been decided upon with complete certainty. Beth has something to surprise her family with: she's fallen in love with Jarrick. And her family has something to surprise her with: a trip--a cruise.

Beth will be going on a trip with her family and friends for most of the summer. This gives readers a unique opportunity to get to know Beth's family better: her mother, her older sister, Margret, her younger sister, Julie. (Edward's mother and sister are going on this trip as well. Edward is a mountie from the first book.)

Most of the book is about this trip--this family vacation on board a cruise ship and at the various destinations where they stop. Beth has plenty on her mind: Jarrick, for one thing, and the year ahead for another. Julie also keeps Beth busy. And not always in a good way. Beth worries for her younger sister. And she's right to be concerned…in a way. Julie is young and impulsive and oh-so-trusting. She has really come alive during the trip--she's LOVING every single moment of it. And she's making so many new friends. Beth, on the other hand, is enjoying herself respectfully but not losing herself in pleasure.

Where Trust Lies is certainly dramatic in places. I did enjoy it more than I thought I would. I enjoyed it perhaps even a little bit more than the first book in the series.

© Becky Laney of Operation Actually Read Bible

1 comment:

Kim said...

Becky, thanks for your review - I am always on the lookout for new fiction to read. Visiting from semicolon linkup. Have a great weekend, Kim Stewart